A Review Of The Sig Sauer Mosquito

Discussion in 'Semi Automatic Handguns' started by On An Island, Mar 30, 2014.

1. On An Island

On An Island Moderator Moderator Initial Supporter

A while back, I promised @Phases and @EarlyMon that I would put out the occasional in-depth review on some of my favorite rifles, shotguns and handguns. So without further ado, here’s my first, on the Sig Sauer Mosquito pistol. Y’all be gentle please, I’m new at this. Constructive comments are welcome as are corrections and mo’ data.

[​IMG]

Facts And Figures

The Mosquito is one of two Sig Sauer dedicated .22LR handguns. The pistol covered in this review is the standard black Mosquito without a threaded barrel, Sig Sauer model number MOS-22-B. MSRP on this version, at this time, is $408 US. If I remember correctly, I paid $369 for mine at one of the large chain sporting goods stores. Purchased new, the Mosquito comes in a foam-lined formed plastic case, with a manual, lock and key, 2nd magazine and a second recoil spring (more on that later).

The Mosquito is very much like, and at the same time very much unlike almost all other lines of handguns offered by Sig Sauer. The differences show in three ways. First, the Mosquito is not made by Sig. Like Sig’s other .22LR offering, the 1911-styled model, number 1911-22-B, it’s made by GSG (German Sport Guns,) Secondly, the barrel is solidly, permanently formed into the frame. And lastly, the Mosquito is a 7/8-size version of the P-220/226 series. In fact, here are the numbers on the li’l guy, straight from Sig’s website:

Action Type DA/SA
    Overall Length 7.2 in
    Overall Height 5.3 in
    Overall Width 1.5 in
    Barrel Length 3.9 in
    Sight Radius 5.5 in
    Weight w/Mag 24.6 oz
    Mag Capacity 10 rounds
    Sights Adjustable Rear
    Grips Black Polymer
    Frame Finish Black Polymer
    Slide Finish Blued
    Trigger Pull DA 14 lbs and SA 7 lbs
    Accessory Rail Yes

[​IMG]